The final Tennis BC Junior Selection Series event has now concluded. Coming up next are the 2020 Indoor Provincial Championships which will decide Team BC roster for the 2020 Indoor Canadian National Championships. Thank you to all of the hosting clubs, volunteers, players, parents, and officials for three great selection series events 


Taking place at UBC, Abigeyle Bhopal defeated Joyce Geng in a tightly contested two set match in the girls singles final. Bhopal also captured a doubles titles, partner, Milla Shevchenko. The girls defeated Lillian Liu and Barbora Bulinova 7-5 6-4. On the boys side, number one seed Gary Jiang, won his third straight singles selection series event of the season. Jiang defeated Jeff Shen 7-5 6-2 in the final. Jiang and Shen then partnered up to win the boys doubles over Jackson Mactaggart and Ewan Robertson. This is the third straight under 12 doubles title for the Jiang-Shen team this indoor season.   

Selection Series #3 U12 Girls Doubles


At North Vancouver Tennis Centre, second seeded Connor Church defeated first seed, Denny Bao, 6-3 2-6 6-0 in the boys singles final. Bao and Church would later partner up to win the boys doubles title without dropping a set. On the girls side, Diana Craciun defeated Emma Dong in straight sets to take home the singles event. Craciun would then capture the doubles title alongside her partner, Quinn Davison. Craciun and Davison defeated Dong and Havana Kadi 6-0 6-4. This is the second straight under 14 doubles title for the Craciun-Davison duo.  


Taking place at Richmond Country Club, the boys singles final was dominated by Lachlan Robertson. Robertson defeated Anthony Majedi 6-2 6-0 to take home the title. Robertson also won the doubles event with his partner, Marvin Kao. Kao and Robertson defeated Lawrence Ivanov and Owen Nguyen 10-4 in a third set super tiebreak. In the girls event, Alessia Cau defeated Isabella Asenov in straight sets to take home the title. Asenov got her revenge in the girls doubles final by defeating Cau and Ella Nielsen 10-5 in a third set super tiebreak alongside her partner, Diana Craciun 


In the boys singles final, Lachlan Robertson won his second title in as many weeks after defeating Aram Noroozian in a tough three set battle. In doubles play, the two Dee brothers, Isaac and Benjamin, won captured the title. The brothers edged out Keita Duclos and Thomas Ford 10-8 in a third set super tiebreak. Chloe Yoo took home the girls title after defeating Alessia Cau in another three set singles final. Yoo then partnered with Leena Bennetto to claim her second trophy of the day. Bennetto and Yoo defeated Jana Alkhatib and Isabella Asenov in straight sets.    

Thank you to all the players who competed this week and see you all at the 2020 Indoor Provincial Championships!  

View Photos