TENNIS
CANADA 2014 Officiating Open Book Test

Please record your responses on the answer sheet provided and return to your Provincial Officiating
Coordinator before 26 May 2014. Unless otherwise specified, all situations refer to Tennis Canada events.

1.

In a consolation match in the women’s 65 and over category, the score reaches 1 set all. According to
the tournament regulations, a match tie-break will now be played to decide the match. Player B tells
the chair umpire that she wants to take her 10 minute rest period before the match tie-break. Player A
says that she doesn’t need a rest and is ready to keep going. What is the proper decision?

a. Allow the rest period

b. Do not allow the players to take a rest period

c. Toss a coin to decide whether or not there will be a rest period

On Saturday, the first day of Qualifying, the players for the first four Qualifying matches have just gone
on court and are all warming-up. During the warm-up it starts to rain and the rain continues all day,
completely washing-out Saturday’s play. Late Saturday night the Referee receives a message from one
of the main draw players saying that he is injured and must withdraw from the tournament. The
Referee knows that, following established procedures: a) once Qualifying starts, only a Lucky Loser can
fill a vacancy in the main draw; and b) if a vacancy occurs before the start of Qualifying, the next player
on the acceptance list will move into the main draw. So the simple but very important question facing
the Referee here is: Has the Qualifying event already begun or not? What is your decision?

a. Qualifying has begun; a Lucky Loser moves into the main draw
b. Qualifying has not begun; the next player on the acceptance list moves into the main draw

In a men’s senior event, Player A asks to take an additional toilet break while his opponent, Player B, is
receiving a medical time-out during a changeover (Player A took his one toilet break earlier in the
match). When does Player A have to be back on court and ready to play?

a. Within 4 % minutes

b. Within 3 minutes

c. Within 90 seconds

d. Within 30 seconds of the Chair Umpire announcing “Time”

In a doubles match A/B are playing C/D. Player A makes a good serve and the return from Player C goes into the
net. Player B, the partner of the server, is moving towards the net ready for the volley. He stops short of the net
but the return, together with the wind and a bit of loose net, causes the ball and the ballooning net to touch
Player B’s racquet. Who wins the point?

a. A/B

b. C/D

c. Noone;play a Let.



After missing a shot to make the score 2-2 during the match tie-break of a men’s 35 and over doubles
match, Player A receives a Code Violation for Audible Obscenity. This is Player A’s first Code Violation in
the match, but his partner, Player B, has already received two Code Violations for Ball Abuse. What is
the correct ruling?

a. Warning, Player A

b. 3-2 for their opponents (C/D)

c. 6-2 for their opponents (C/D)

d. C/D win the match

At an outdoor Junior National event, the trainer is called on court during a changeover. The trainer
evaluates for 10 seconds and spends the rest of the changeover treating the player for cramps. Does
this treatment count as one of the two permissible changeover treatments for cramps?

a. Yes
b. No

In a combined men’s and women’s ITF Futures event, the men are playing with extra duty balls and the
women are playing with regular duty balls. There is a men’s match and a women’s match being played
side-by-side on Courts 3 and 4. At the conclusion of a point, making the score 4-3, 30-15 in the second
set, female Player B, who has just lost the point, approaches the chair umpire with a ball and says ‘This
is an extra duty ball; we need to replay the point’. The chair umpire checks the ball and sees that the
ball is indeed a men’s ball. What is the correct ruling?

a. Let; replay the point

b. Let, but only if the chair umpire is certain that this was the ball in play during the preceding

point
c. The point stands as played

During a tie-break, when can a player request to stop play and see the trainer?
a. When the player has developed an acute medical condition that necessitates an immediate
stop in play
b. For any medical reason, before he/she is serving the next point
For any medical reason, regardless of the score in the tie-break

While waiting on court to do the coin toss, the chair umpire observes Player A place a heart-rate
monitoring strap around his chest (under his shirt) and then attach a digital read-out device around his
wrist. What should the chair umpire do?

a. Askthe player if he is feeling ok

b. Nothing

c. Ask the player to remove both devices



10. Players A and B are playing a consolation match in a Senior’s event. The scoring system used is 2
regular tie-break sets, with a 10 point match tie-break to decide the match if the score reaches 1 set
all. The score in the match is 6 games all in the second set. The players ask the roving umpire ‘Do we
play a 7 point tie-break or a 10 point tie-break?’ The roving umpire, thinking that the second set had
just ended, tells them to play a 10 point tie-break. Both players say OK and begin playing a 10 point tie-
break. Play continues until it is 9-7 in the tie-break. At this point, seeing the server prepare for the next
point, another official watching the match, aware of the correct score but not having heard the
discussion between the players and the other official, intervenes to say ‘Wait a minute, that’s the end
of the tie-break.” What is the correct ruling?

a. The 10 point tie-break continues to its conclusion, whereupon it will either be 1 set all or one
player will have won the match 2 sets to love

b. The second set concludes at 9-7 in the tie-break as it was supposed to have done, whereupon it
will either be 1 set all or one player will have won the match 2 sets to love

c. Recommence the 7 point tie-break now that everyone is clear on what the score is and what
should have been done



